Tenon Intersystems Please see text links at bottom of page for navigation Please see text links at bottom of page for navigation
Please see text links at bottom of page for navigation Please see text links at bottom of page for navigation
Please see text links at bottom of page for navigation
Google
Search this site:



FAQ all FAQ for this program Search
iTools 7 : FTP : The difference between FTP and System users Print send FAQs by e-mailask a question
Question:What is the difference between iTools FTP users and System users?
Answer:The system/ftp user is a very complex issue. Although system users and iTools FTP users both have their data stored in the Mac OS X user library there are many differences between the two. Normal iTools users are NOT stored in Mac OS X user library hence you do not need to worry about the issues that exist with iTools FTP users. The following is a list of some of the differences between iTools FTP users and System users:


System users:

  • System user has a shell, and they can have SSH access.

  • System users (With Admin access) can be in no group (10.3 system), or staff (10.2 system).

  • System users (Without Admin access) can be in no group (10.3 system), or users (10.2 system).


iTools FTP users:

  • iTools FTP users don't have a shell. They can't use SSH access.

  • iTools FTP users are assigned to group www (for iTools 6 they were in group ftpguest).

  • iTools FTP users will be jailed in their own home directory if the user is NOT in group staff**.



Creating users:

  • If you create a iTools FTP user with the same name of a system user. The user is still a system user with his password changed to match the password of iTools FTP user and his home directory changed to the same directory as specified in User Home of iTools Admin Server. This is usually not recommended, but this is done to allow administrators to add their existing users to iTools without much change to the system.

  • You won't be able to create a system user with the same name of iTools FTP user, the system preference will tell you that the user already exist.



Deleting users:

  • If you delete iTools FTP users or system users from System Preference, then the FTP access is automatically cancelled.



Accessing the file system:

  • If you have iTools 7.0-7.1, and on Mac OS X 10.2 (including those that upgraded OS to 10.3 from 10.2) then you will be able to see the entire harddisk when you log into ftp as the system administrator.

  • If you have iTools 7.0+, and on Mac OS X 10.3 then you will be locked inside your own directory, and it doesn't matter if you are system administrator or not.





  • ** For iTools 7.0 - 7.1 they will also be jailed if the user is in group ftpguest. If you installed with 7.0 then upgraded to 7.3 your behavior will remain the same as 7.0 unless you copy over the new proftpd.conf file from /Library/Tenon/System/Defaults/proftpd.conf to /Library/Tenon/FTPServer/Configuration/proftpd.conf . To do that you can use this command in the terminal `sudo cp /Library/Tenon/System/Defaults/proftpd.conf /Library/Tenon/FTPServer/Configuration/proftpd.conf`
affected operating systems:Mac OS X
last updated 10.09.2004
[next FAQ]
List FAQ in this category | List categories | List all FAQ | List programs goto top

| Tenon Home | Products | Order | Contact Us | About Tenon | Register | Tech Support | Resources | Press Room | Mailing Lists |

Powered By iTools

Copyright©2013 Tenon Intersystems, 232 Anacapa Street, Suite 2A, Santa Barbara, CA 93101. All rights reserved.
Questions about our website - Contact: webmaster@tenon.com.


Tenon Home  Tenon Home  Tenon Home  Tenon Home Product Info  Tenon Ordering Contact About Register Support Resources Press Mailing Lists