|
for me, spamhaus actually catches bounce backs from mail servers
that don't have an ip address or domain specified in the IP Src.
example:
20031023075003-0700:IP Filter: SpamHaus RBL MATCH: IP Src: <>
IP dest: <ruben.gonzales@xxxxxxxxx>
20031023075012-0700:IP Filter: SpamHaus RBL MATCH: IP Src: <>
IP dest: <glaadvolunteersny-request@xxxxxxxxx>
i've looked at nearly every one of these (i have the filter
copying to an address that i check out), and they are legit bounces.
is there a way for me to do an exclude in the filter if the source
address is blank?
thanks!
aasun
On Tuesday, October 21, 2003, at 07:57 AM, Elton wrote:
I split my (7) RBL's into separate
filters, and was surprised that four of the seven are all but
worthless.
Aprox. 22,000 spams in
the last 10 days with "zero" false positives; SA Running
"out of the box", no white-list, etc..
sbl.spamhaus.org.........48.55%
bl.spamcop.net...........21.23%
spam_assassin............19.22% *not an
RBL
dnsbl.njabl.org..........10.14%
spamguard.leadmon.net.....0.69%
blackholes.uceb.org.......0.09%
relays.ordb.org...........0.06%
rdts.bl.reynolds.net.au...0.03%
*Note:
Spam Assassin sits behind these RBL's; ie: the
(7) rbl's are excluded in the SA_Filter -- SA would get more spam if
it were not setup this way.
I figure if I "can" the bottom
four RBL's, SA will pick-up what they get. Also, since the RBL
don't exclude each other, they may be getting duplicates; spamhaus.org
may be getting what the bottom four is getting.
I know many people use ordb.org; alone --
what a joke.
Elton
--
Aasun Eble
Director of Technology
Direct: 323-634-2040
Main: 323-933-2240
Fax: 323-933-2241
www.glaad.org
|